Poonam Talkies

From the babe’s mouth | January 12, 2011

This one will be best understood by those who know Marathi. I will translate it to the best of my abilities.

Scene 1:

Anoushka is running about on the driveway and looks up at the star studded sky and goes, Mummy, the star is halling. (to move is “hal” in marathi.)

Scene 2:

Anoushka is about to settle into the bath tub for her bath and she says, Mummy me sit-te. (Mummy, I am sitting. In marathi, baste is to sit)

Scene 3:

Anoushka calling out to me from the bathroom after she is done playing in the bathtub, Mummy, tu mala comesheel? (Mummy will you come to me?)

Scene 4:

Anoushka is going through a phase where she cries when we see her off at daycare. It usually takes about 5 minutes after we are gone for her to calm down. Geetha aunty usually tells her, Anoushka, don’t cry. or No crying at Geetha Aunty’s house. To that, Anoushka asks Geetha Aunty, me thoda-sa cry karte? (Can I cry a little bit?) and continues until she is done!

Posted in baby

1 Comment »

  1. Lol:-) And poonam people curse me for my marathi – I think only Anoushka will understand my troubles with the language:-)))

    Comment by Minal — January 16, 2011 @ 5:47 am


Leave a Reply

    looking for something?

    January 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Mar »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
